News Article

Gov. Sanders Reappoints Jerry Morgan to ASU System Board of Trustees


LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Sarah Huckabee Sanders has reappointed Jerry Morgan of Jonesboro, a 1992 graduate of Arkansas State University and longtime banking executive, to the Arkansas State University System Board of Trustees.

Morgan was appointed by Gov. Asa Hutchinson in December 2021 to fulfill the remaining term of Dr. Tim Langford of Jonesboro and served as chair of the board in 2023. His new seven-year term will expire Jan. 14, 2031.


A native of Harrisburg, Morgan is Regional Market President for First National Bank. He has worked in banking in northeast Arkansas for more 30 years.

ASU System Interim President Robin Myers said he was grateful to the governor for the reappointment.

"Jerry has been actively involved with A-State and its growth for many years as an alumnus and business leader, and he's been a very strong ASU System trustee," Myers said. "As we transition to new system leadership in the coming months, his board and management experience will be important in the search process. We appreciate Governor Sanders for selecting strong leaders and alumni of our ASU System institutions."

Morgan is chairman of the Jonesboro Advertising and Promotions Commission, where he has been active in many tourism- and sports-related economic development projects, including the Embassy Suites and Red Wolf Convention Center on the Arkansas State campus. He is past president of the Jonesboro University Rotary Club, where he has received two Paul Harris Fellow awards, and served as a board member of the Arkansas Bankers Association and Craighead County Community Foundation.

“Many of my career accomplishments are a direct result of the education and connections I was afforded from my time at Arkansas State University,” Morgan said. “I have enjoyed my board service the past two years and thank Governor Sanders for giving me this opportunity to continue to serve my alma mater, as well as the additional outstanding ASU System institutions across Arkansas and in Mexico. We have lots of unfinished business ahead, from hiring a new system president to launching the first veterinary school in Arkansas."

Morgan was selected as an Arkansas Business “40 under 40” honoree in 2007 and as a Jonesboro Sun “12 People That Make Things Happen” honoree. He is a member of Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity, where he received the Alumni of the Year Award. He is also a 1924 Sustaining Life Member of the A- State Alumni Association.

He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in finance from Arkansas State in 1992 and a Master of Business Administration degree from A-State in 1998. He also holds a degree from the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking from Southern Methodist University.

Morgan is married to Caroline Bishop Morgan, who received a Master of Communication Disorders degree in speech-language pathology from A-State and practices at the Valley View School District. They have two children, Luke and Kate Morgan.

Arkansas State University System

The ASU System, based in Little Rock, serves almost 35,000 students annually and includes Arkansas State University, a four-year research institution in Jonesboro with an additional campus in Queretaro, Mexico, and Henderson State University, a four-year institution in Arkadelphia.

The system's two-year institutions include ASU-Beebe, with additional campuses in Heber Springs and Searcy; ASU-Mountain Home; ASU-Newport, with additional campuses in Jonesboro and Marked Tree; ASU Mid-South in West Memphis; and ASU Three Rivers in Malvern, with the Saline County Career Technical Campus in Benton. For more information about the ASU System, visit or follow on X at @ASUSystem.

Media Inquiries

Media inquiries and interview requests or requests for documents subject to the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act should be sent to Jeff Hankins, Vice President of Strategic Communications, at

Copyright © 2024 & All Rights Reserved by Arkansas State University System / Fiscal Accountability and Transparency