News Article

President Announces ASU-Beebe Chancellor Search Advisory Committee


Dr. Charles L. Welch, president of the Arkansas State University System, issued the following announcement to the ASU-Beebe campus regarding plans for the chancellor search process:

I am pleased to announce the appointment of a Chancellor Search Advisory Committee to assist in the process of choosing the next Chancellor of ASU-Beebe.  This committee represents a cross-section of our multiple campus constituencies and will serve a critical role in selecting our next leader. 

The committee will be responsible for developing the position announcement, screening the applicants, interviewing candidates, and ultimately making recommendations to me regarding the final candidates.  While the committee will serve as a representative voice for all campus and community members, there will also be ample opportunity for every campus constituent to engage in the selection process and to provide meaningful feedback regarding the applicants.

My goal is to publish the position announcement by February 15.  We will likely begin a review of the applications around April 1 with screening and interviews to occur during the month of April.  I am hopeful that we will be able to name our next Chancellor around May 1.  Of course this timeline could change following discussions with the committee, but this should give you a general idea of the process.  I would also add that this timeline mirrors those used in previous chancellor searches in the ASU System.

I am very excited about this process and look forward to working with each of you.  If you ever have any questions or feedback, please do not hesitate to contact me.  




1. Chuck Welch, ASU System President & Committee Chair
2. Stewart Prosser, Student Government President
3. Dr. Jake Marquess, Associate Professor of Biology
4. Suzanne Lindsey, Assistant Professor of English
5. Dr. Brent Bristow, Professor of Music
6. Shawn Taillon, Agriculture Equipment Tech. Dept. Head
7. Tonya Tucker, Assistant Registrar
8. Dr. Suzanne Bailey, Dean of Career Education
9. Rachel Lewis, Research Analyst
10. Frank Taylor, Student Union Night Manager
11. Emily Fisher, Buyer
12. Alison West, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
13. Howard Chapin, Community Representative
14. Cathy Eoff, Community Representative                      

Dr. Jennifer Methvin

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 1000
Beebe, AR 72012

(501) 882-3600

(501) 882-8970


Media Inquiries

Media inquiries and interview requests or requests for documents subject to the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act should be sent to Jeff Hankins, Vice President of Strategic Communications, at

Copyrights © 2014 & All Rights Reserved by Arkansas State University System