News Article

ASU-Beebe Welcomes New Deans For Academic Divisions


BEEBE, Ark. – Arkansas State University-Beebe has hired three new deans to head up the newly structured academic divisions:  Dr. Suzanne Bailey, who will lead the Division of Career Education; Dr. Jason Goodner, who will lead the Division of Arts and Humanities; and Dr. Tina Moore, who will lead the Division of Business, Math, and Science.  All three deans officially joined the ASU-Beebe staff on July 3.

“We have restructured the college to a provost leadership model, bringing academics and student services under one executive leader,” explained Dr. Karla Fisher, ASUB chancellor. “We are extremely pleased to add these three outstanding professionals to our leadership team. Their expertise and diverse experiences are sure to enhance every program of study across all four ASUB campuses and online.

“The college search committee conducted an extensive search this spring to identify a pool of well qualified educators to fill these dean positions,” said Dr. Kerry Mix, provost and head of academics and student services at ASU-Beebe.  “These are high caliber individuals, and will be instrumental in achieving the college’s strategic planning initiatives which improves educational practice and supports student success.”

Bailey comes to ASU-Beebe with more than 26 years' experience in the K-12 sector, and brings a wealth of knowledge and contacts to facilitate greater partnerships and smoother transitions for students entering career education at ASUB. Bailey began her educational career as a classroom teacher in the Beebe Public School System. She went on to serve as a gifted and talented instructor/director, federal programs director, elementary administrator, and secondary administrator, capping off her K-12 experience by serving five years as Superintendent at the Lonoke School District.  She has also served as an adjunct faculty member in the educational leadership program at A-State Jonesboro since 2014.  In addition to her broad experience in leadership, Bailey has served on many boards including the Arkansas Activities Association Board of Directors, Arkansas AdvancEd Board, Arkansas Professional Licensure Board, Arkansas Rural Education Board, Arkansas Child Health Advisory Board, and others.

Bailey began her higher education journey at ASUB, earning an Associate Degree in Liberal Arts. She now holds a Bachelor of Science in elementary education from the University of Central Arkansas in Conway, and a Master of Educational Administration from Harding University. She has also completed the Superintendent’s Program of Study/District Administrator’s License P-12 and earned a Doctorate in Educational Leadership, both from Harding University. Dr. Bailey will serve on ASU-Beebe’s Searcy campus.

Goodner, a native of southwest Georgia, most recently served as Executive Director for Assessment and Accreditation/SACSCOC Liaison and Assistant Professor of Sociology at Albany State University.  At previous institutions, he has served as a chief academic officer, director of an off-campus instructional site, academic department chair, academic program coordinator, student services officer, and admissions officer. In addition to his extensive administrative experience, Goodner brings more than 14 years of higher education classroom instruction experience working with traditional and non-traditional students in on-campus, web-enhanced, and online instructional environments. He also brings specialized training in the Quality Matters rubrics and peer review process for online courses.

Goodner holds a Doctorate in Education focused on adult and career education from Valdosta State University (GA) and a Master of Science in Social Administration from Georgia Southwestern State University. As an undergraduate, he earned a Bachelor of Science in Applied Sociology from Georgia Southern University and an Associate of Science in Middle School Education from Darton State College (GA).

Goodner and his family are relocating to Arkansas from Leesburg, GA. He will serve at the Beebe campus.

Moore will lead the Division of Business, Math, and Science. In addition to teaching high school and college students, Moore has provided training and professional development to educators with the primary goals of improving instruction and increasing student engagement, learning, and achievement. Her role as a school improvement consultant included program and systems evaluation throughout the state of Arkansas. Moore has also worked in the business sector in the pharmaceutical industry. In her most recent position as director at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Center for Health Literacy, she managed all programs and services, led center staff, presented to healthcare professionals and students on effective communication, conducted research on health literacy, and collaborated with faculty on inter-professional education curriculum. Moore serves on the Arkansas Literacy Council Board and is a member of both the Center for Plain Language and the Plain Language Network, among other professional and civic organizations.

Moore earned her Doctorate in Education focused on leadership, curriculum, and instruction from Liberty University (VA), as well as a Master’s in Education from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock focused on secondary mathematics education. Moore also holds a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville and earned a post-graduate Educational Specialist degree through Arkansas State University.

A native Arkansan, Moore was born and raised in Batesville. She and her family have resided in the Cabot area for the past two decades. Moore will serve at the Beebe campus.

For more information about ASU-Beebe and its programs, call (501) 882-3600, or visit the ASU-Beebe website at

Founded in 1927, Arkansas State University-Beebe is an operationally separate, two-year institution of the Arkansas State University System.  With campuses located in Beebe, Heber Springs, Searcy, the Little Rock Air Force Base, and online, the university offers associate degrees, certificates, and non-credit training for business and industry.  The Beebe campus also collaborates with Arkansas State, a four-year university in Jonesboro, to offer baccalaureate and graduate degrees on the Beebe campus. ASU-Beebe is nationally recognized by the Aspen Institute for student success rates.


Dr. Jennifer Methvin

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 1000
Beebe, AR 72012

(501) 882-3600

(501) 882-8970


Media Inquiries

Media inquiries and interview requests or requests for documents subject to the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act should be sent to Jeff Hankins, Vice President of Strategic Communications, at

Copyrights © 2014 & All Rights Reserved by Arkansas State University System