AGENDA ARKANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES April 1, 2010 3:00 p.m. ASU System Office - Teleconference

- I. Call to Order Mrs. Florine Tousant Milligan, Chair
- *II. Agenda
 - Proposed ASU-Beebe, ASU-Mountain Home, and ASU-Newport Resolution
 - Resolution approving ASU-Beebe, ASU-Mountain Home, and ASU-Newport to offer an Associate of Science in Business degree.
- *III. Adjournment

*Action Items

Arkansas State University Board of Trustees April 1, 2010

The Arkansas State University Board of Trustees met by conference call on Thursday, April 1, 2010, in the conference room of the President's Office at Regions Bank. Mrs. Florine Tousant Milligan, Chair of the Board of Trustees, called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. A roll call confirmed the presence of the following Board members via teleconference: Mr. Howard Slinkard, Vice Chair; Mr. Ron Rhodes, Secretary; and Mr. Mike Gibson. Trustee Dan Pierce joined members of the ASU System staff in the conference room. Dr. Les Wyatt and representatives of the two-year campuses joined via teleconference.

Agenda:

ASU-Beebe, ASU-Mountain Home, and ASU-Newport Resolution

Resolution approving ASU-Beebe, ASU-Mountain Home, and ASU-Newport to offer an Associate of Science in Business degree.

Dr. Wyatt explained that approval is necessary in order submit to the Higher Education Coordinating Board for approval at their April meeting for implementation of the degree in the fall 2010. The purpose of the proposal is to provide a seamless transition for the students to be able to transfer credits from the two-year colleges to the four-year universities.

Upon motion by Mr. Slinkard, second by Mr. Rhodes, Resolution 10-21 was approved.

AYES: Milligan, Slinkard, Rhodes, Gibson, Pierce

NAYS: None

Upon motion by Mr. Pierce, second by Mr. Gibson, the meeting was adjourned at 3:07 p.m.

AYES: Milligan, Slinkard, Rhodes, Gibson, Pierce

NAYS: None

Ron Rhodes, Secretary

Horne Journan 14 Florine Tousant Milli Chair

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Contact: Pat Bailey (870) 508-6102

ACTION ITEM: The two-year campuses of Arkansas State University request approval to offer an Associate of Science (A.S.) in Business degree.

ISSUE: The Board of Trustees must approve the offering of new academic programs.

BACKGROUND:

- ASUMH led a statewide effort to develop an A.S. in Business degree to help streamline the process for business students transferring from two-year colleges to four-year universities.
- Nine of the 10 eligible four-year universities and 20 of the 22 two-year colleges are participating (lists attached).
- Currently, two-year colleges must develop articulation agreements with individual four-year universities to ensure students do not lose credits when transferring.
- Because of the specific major requirements at the four-year institutions, two-year college students changing from one four-year institution to another, without a change of major, often lose credits in the transfer. The development of this degree will address this issue at participating institutions.
- This degree is 62 semester credit hours and includes a three-hour directed elective selected by each participating four-year institution. The directed elective is either Introduction to Business or Business Communications.
- The A.S. in Business degree will be offered using traditional and online delivery formats.
- ASUMH will serve as the lead college in submitting the degree to the Arkansas Department of Higher Education Coordinating Board.

RECOMMENDATION/RESOLUTION:

Be it resolved that Arkansas State University-Beebe, Arkansas State University-Mountain Home, and Arkansas State University-Newport are approved to offer the Associate of Science in Business degree in collaboration with two-year colleges and four-year universities effective fall 2010 semester.

Anive Tourna

Florine Tousant Milligan, Chair

Ron Rhodes, Secretary

Four-Year University Participants Associate of Science in Business Consortium

| University | Contact Person | Directed Elective |
|------------|-----------------|--------------------------------|
| ASU | Lynita Cooksey | Business Communications |
| ATU | Tom Tyler | Introduction to Business |
| HSU | Vernon Miles | Business Communications |
| SAU | Lisa Toms | Introduction to Business |
| UCA | Mike Casey | Business Communications |
| UAFS | Steve Williams | Business Communications |
| UALR | Roger Roderick | Introduction to Business |
| UAM | Ranelle Eubanks | Introduction to Business |
| UAPB | Eddie Hand | Introduction to Business |

The Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas-Fayetteville has chosen not to participate because of curriculum alignment and content differences, but is supportive of this agreement.

.

Ċ,

Two-Year College Participants Associate of Science in Business Consortium

Institution

Arkansas Northeastern College Arkansas State University-Beebe Arkansas State University-Mountain Home Arkansas State University- Newport **Black River Technical College Cossatot Community College of U of A** East Arkansas Community College National Park Community College North Arkansas College Northwest Arkansas Community College **Ouachita Technical College** Ozarka College Phillips Community College of U of A Pulaski Technical College **Rich Mountain Community College** Southeast Arkansas Community College South Arkansas Community College **UACC-** Batesville UACC-Hope **UACC-Morrilton**

Representative

Mary Dement Ted Kalthoff Pat Bailey Larry Davis Jack McCord Barbara Lacefield Jeff Watson Gordon Watts Gwen Gresham **Tim Cornelius** Martin Eggensperger Mike DeLong Deborah King Purnell Henderson Steven Rook Linda Lewis Val Cantu' **Cliff Jones** Jennifer Methvin Diana Arn